Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Clydesdale Rescue - and hello from

Hi everyone

I'm a newbie to this forum (recommended to me by another forum member)and to the world of horses, so I'm looking forward to learning lots.

Last year I rescued a 30 year old boy from the RSPCA, he's my first horse ever after *mumble* decades of never outgrowing my girlhood fantasy. Mr Biggles is just gorgeous but I feel sorry for him as he's my guinea-pig so to speak. But the learning curve has to start somewhere doesn't it?

Just to really throw myself into the deep end, last year a couple of friends and myself started up Clydesdale Rescue, so far we've saved 7 of them from the knackery, and had one surrendered to us. No, I'm not involved in the hands-on stuff for which the horses I'm sure are truly grateful, but am trying to help with fund-raising and getting the word out. One of my colleagues is a clumper nut, so they are in safe hands.

So the main reason for my first post is to let you know about Clydesdale Rescue, and if anyone has any ways to help us, or could put some posters up for us please let me know.

We also need to know if any Clydes end up at the saleyards or need rescuing - at present there are only 2 of us in Sydney, so are having to confine operations to around that area until we can get some contacts/temp agistment arrangements in place in other area.

We have a website too! [http://www.clydesdalerescue.com.au]

Thanks for taking the time to read my first post!

Cheers, Von

Default RE: Clydesdale Rescue - and hello f

Hi Von, firstly... WELCOME!

We're getting alot of newbies on the forum these days..it's wonderful.

Second... I used to have Clydesdales in New Zealand, i love the big brutes. I'm in Queensland now but if you need a hand from this end of the country don't hesitate to call on me. If you want to PM me i will give you all my contact numbers etc. Would love to help you out any way possible with an organisation such as this one!!

Cheers
    Rosco