Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Question Pasture - Safest grass types for horses

I started this thread to seek out information on the safest grass types to sow for horse pastures and hopefully draw in some expert advice for myself and others.
    I have been researching this topic for a few years off and on and have come across a lot of conflicting information.
    Im really looking to chat to the people who know and have factual information on grass types used for horse pastures.
    I have some information to share from some seed manafacturers regarding fescues in particular that i have enquired about recently.
    I live in Northern Tasmania and have 20 acres of pasture which i rotate some Belted Galloways and Horses on, it hasnt been going so well and im looking at a repair of the paddocks after only sowing it down to permananent pasture 2 years ago - but thats really another story that it went so bad.
    I used a mix of Kingston (LE) Ryegrass, PG One50 (AR1) Ryegrass, Kara Cocksfoot and 2 clovers, as this was virgin ground from cleared bush it had been well limed and fertilised and soil tested more than once and was planned well in conjunction with local agronomist.
    What i find is that not many people around including agronomists and seed merchants are not confident in recommending you a safe mix of grass for horse pastures, and my experience is anything that says Horse mix from the suppliers is probably not that great.
    So things that i know to consider are
    1. Ryegrass Staggers
    2. Broodmare Safety
    3. Fescue Toxicity
    4. Laminitis
    these are some of the issues to consider when choosing a grass seed for your pastures.
    I appreciate any replies that will help to gain some accurate information to share and im happy to share what i know in reply.
    Last edited by nrandrews; 12-02-12 at 11:43 AM.

A few personal facts from experience
    They dislike rye & clover if given other options, also lucerne actively growing (not baled).