PDA

View Full Version : Old mates- Shadow- helps a young person

cyrus
19-05-12, 05:54 PM
Not sure how I always end up doing these things, but I also believe people always helped me, and to share ones love of horses to the younger kids in life with non horsey parents will never kill me ( seeing as I have been a teacher all my life anyhow)
So the neighbour has a niece who has spent a year doing lessons, and still does a lesson once a week.
Shadow is my sons old pony club horse, who has been with my freind and me now- for 20 years, she had him as a young failed TB, at 2 years of age. Went through the pony club ranks, and he has always had a heart od gold, along with high heel low heel, a flippy right leg, and at times sewing machine legs, if he thinks the world might eat him up. Not sound, but doing ok and seems happy to share his life with nice young light rider too.

He is going ever so slow for the little girl, it is kind of precious really.
He is somewhat arthritic now, and of course minus 3 starts like today, really would not help him out.
So here is little bit of dear old guy helping a keen little girl.

If I could have a million Shadows- how good would life be :) Its about 4 mins long- and really we are just minding her, but keeping her safe too... time to practice without nagging LOl- we nagged :O

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lhJ6zcCgOs0

casual
19-05-12, 06:43 PM
:)good on you,he looks a kind old fella and knows he's got to look after his young passenger, a credit to you and your family, and generous to supply a much loved boy I'm sure his new rider loves him too and will never forget the one that set her on her way. go shadow

LisaL
19-05-12, 07:48 PM
If you can't share an experience, it has no meaning.

I'm with you Cyrus, it's the experience of sharing that adds value. Whenever I've had a horse suitable for sharing, it's been a great opportunity to share the joy.

NikJ
19-05-12, 07:51 PM