PDA

View Full Version : Changing feeds

Autumn
30-05-12, 05:52 PM
I can hear you all rolling your eyes and groaning from here because I know 'feeding' threads have been done to death. But Im interested in not exactly what you feed but if you stick to what you know works or wether you are happy to try something new? wether from new info? new trend? health problems? etc.

Do you change feeds alot? and if so why?

I have been feeding the same way for many, many years with no problems but after getting better feeding information (cause boy there is some cr@p info out there lol) Im now changing to a much lower starch feeds eg: cutting grains back to very minimum and adding copra. Im going to give this a go over winter, for both my big boy and little pony and see if this works. This is not a decision I take on lightly because I always believe to feed a biologically appropriate diet that is not highly processed.

Fair Embrace
30-05-12, 06:07 PM
I'm a sucker for trying new feeds. If something comes on the market that appeals to me or I just feel like spoiling my ponies. Usually I choose one or two horses to try it on especially if they have recently lost condition etc. I always worm them before I start a new feed and gradually introduce it with their usual feed (whilst decreasing the amount).
If after a month or two I don't see an improvement I go back to basics. My horses all eat horse and pony pellets, copra, cracked corn, speedi beet, oaten chaff and lucerne hay. Some get other things as well but this is basically by 'base' feed. Depending on weather and time of year the amount fed will vary.
My opinion is if you aren't happy with the way your horse looks, behaves etc on what you are feeding don't be afraid to try something else. Also many feeds are capable of producing better results for less money which means you can spoil your ponies with new rugs and other things we love but the horses could care less about.......It's the thought that counts.