PDA

View Full Version : Dressage Day Pencilling - Tips?

Koalas_rule
21-02-14, 10:23 AM
I've volunteered to do pencilling at a dressage day on Sunday. I'm a bit nervous because I've never done it before, worried about making mistakes etc etc. Can anyone give me an idea of what to expect? Do I need to bring anything with me? I'm such a stress-head when it comes to the little things ...

k123
21-02-14, 10:58 AM
take a spare pen or two with you incase the one you are given stops working.

The judges are really lovely. I always write the score as soon as they say it and then write / finish writing the comments - the score is the most important bit!

Be familiar with abbreviations like CL for centre line, a drawn circle or square - obviously for those words :), There's a whole list of abbreviations somewhere. I usually try to write properly as it makes it easier for the person getting their test back when they don't have to decipher what has been written.

if the judge misses a movement, just go onto the next one and point it out once the test is finished.

I usually write up a couple of sheets with comp date, judge name, judge position etc so that I am ready to go as soon as the riders come past. I don't fill in rider details until the person presents to the judge, as people scratch and then you waste paper. You will get a list of entries for the class and you cross off / tick each combination as they present to the judge. After the test is finished, the judge writes their comments, check to make sure they have signed the sheet - some forget. I keep my completed sheets horizontally at the back of the folder so that when a runner comes by it takes a couple of seconds to hand them the right pages.

Horsey Habit
21-02-14, 11:08 AM
Make sure you tell the judge you are new to pencilling. The judge will tell you what he/she wants from you. Write legibly! Abbreviate comments where possible.