PDA

View Full Version : Devil's Claw

fire_ball
17-10-06, 02:51 PM
Has anyone had any success using devil's claw as an alternative to bute for long-term pain/anti-inflammatory? We're not at that stage - yet. But my boy is currently on bute/second day, with a warning that its potentially long term.

What would the dosage rate be for a big 15.1 QHx gelding?

I found a herb website that recommended making a liquid version by soaking the herb in 80-grade(???) vodka for two weeks. At this rate, I'll be fighting the horse for the vodka I think!

Going to visit a new farrier on Sat. Fingers crossed.

Mel

Ding Dong
17-10-06, 04:48 PM
I'm no expert on herbals but I was in the same predicament until a couple of months ago when I took my T/B off Bute (also a long term thing) and now have him on a mix of White Willow Bark and Devils Claw as an anti-inflamm. I personally am seeing fantastic results with no ill-effects. Make sure you do some research first - there's a host of 'herbalists' out there willing to take your money! I am giving my boy three small scoops (the little ones that hold perhaps a tablespoon) each day steeped in a cup of boiling water. Seems to be working for me!

Ding Dong
17-10-06, 04:49 PM
Oh and keep the Vodka for yourself....!

Mr Mac
17-10-06, 11:01 PM
You could try contacting Victoria Ferguson for expert advice...
http://www.herbalhorse.com/index.html

Oedin
17-10-06, 11:58 PM
Am using it with great success on my old appy, 2/3 tablespoon daily for him (he's a very chubby 15.2h).

Emily Miller
18-10-06, 12:55 AM
Hi Firbe-ball,
Im just wondering what are you planning on using devils claw for?
Im only asking because im considering starting my boy on some herbs to assist with his navicular and wanted to see if there were others out there using herbs for such problems? and wehether or not they are working at all?

fire_ball
18-10-06, 12:59 PM
Hi guys, thanks for the replies so far!