PDA

View Full Version : Driving horses from perth the Brisb

Del1ghtful
19-03-07, 06:37 AM
Hi, I would like some peoples advice on what places we could stay that allow horses, ie., horse motels, between Perth and Brisbane. Also, If anyone has made the trip themselves, some hints on places to avoid, and the distances to plan for that would be great. Thanks.:+

Kaddy
19-03-07, 08:37 AM
Contact Paula DiCandilo & her family (lovely people), they have done the trip a couple of times now & I bet they know all the good places to stay & the ones to avoid etc. Sorry I don't have a number for her. But she shouldn't be too hard to find or try Brian Cramp, he is their trainer (western) & travelled with them.

Good luck.

strumming
19-03-07, 11:03 AM
Hi, I'm a newbie too. My partner and I have done this trip quite a few times. You'll be having a fun time trying to find horse motels, etc across the nullabor!! We usually camp & swag it across. We stay at Eucla (the rd house has a round yard), then stay @ Ceduna race course, all places in between we camp. A lot of rd houses on the nullabor will let you camp as long as you keep away from other campers & clean up after yourselves.

The distance varies for us, depends on whether we're going by truck or towing the float. We've done as little as 400km a day to over 800km a day.