PDA

View Full Version : Jumping Position help

nswan
29-05-07, 02:19 PM
Hi Everyone,

I have been jumping now for about 3 years. Getting a little better and more confident every year.. My most frustrating part of jumping is my position.. I seem to collapse and lean when approaching my jumps. Any excercises or advice on what i can do to improve my position?

Kilronan
29-05-07, 04:07 PM
have you got photos or a video???

JEC
30-05-07, 12:22 AM
Maybe think of your shoulders & upper body being your strength ( as in brakes) and use this instead of relying on hands. Keep abs strong when approaching the fence & don't jump before the horse.

I gather you are only jumping small fences? If so then you hardly have to 'lean' forward at all......much better off 'folding' as horse takes off. A lot of people try to jump the fence before the horse so let the fence come to you.
Hope this helps but it is difficult when we don't have any idea of where you are at !!

jumpa
30-05-07, 02:08 AM
Ok collapsing and leaning is as much a flatwork issue as a jumping one. Id also say that you leaning forward into the fence is a symptom of you being a bit anxious.

I suggest you do the following..

No stirrups work to strengthen your lower leg and your core muscles (abs etc).

When you are riding think about your balance being in your legs rather than your hands. Think about the weight being in your heels and a straight line from your shoulder to your hip to your heel.

I would also practice doing your 2 point position on the flat, in the trot and canter. See how many laps you can hold it for either rein. The idea is that you will become stronger in your position.

I would encorporate pole work into your training regeme both trot poles and canter poles. Practice riding into the poles with a good solid position that you have on the flat.