PDA

View Full Version : Need Help Understanding - My Horse

melandol
30-05-07, 07:21 AM
Okay, guys, I'm new to all this, and I need all the help that I can get.

5 weeks ago I bought a 5 yo standardbred gelding, who was very underweight and malnourished. He was in desperate need of TLC, and has had his worming, feet and teeth done. He also had a vet check a week after I bought him home, as he was lifting one of his back legs in a similar fashion to 'stringhalt'.

It turned out that it was just because he was getting a lack of exercise (as I was just trying to fatten him up first), so I started the lungeing straight away. I do about half hour a day. That has fixed that problem.

BUT, my horse has what is known as a dropped hip (also known as 'hipped', 'pin down' or 'down of its hip'). This occurred due to a trotting accident when he was younger.

When doing any exercise, my boy extends his back leg a fraction more than the others. I was just really curious as to whether or not this limits his abilities? Is there certain things that I should do to help? Or things that I shouldnt do? Is this uncomfortable for him?? He is happy enough to be lunged and will work happily in the walk, trot and canter for a long period of time.

I intend to get Ol to a healthy condition and build up his muscletone, he will be used for trail rides.

Before I bought Ol he was being ridden by children regularly, and I have jumped on him a few times in the last few weeks.. he doesnt appear to be in pain... so what exactly does this condition mean? Is this condition workable?

Sorry I'm so clueless guys, but I just want to make sure that I'm doing the right thing by my boy.

melandol
30-05-07, 10:41 AM
Anyone? :(

pauper
30-05-07, 10:53 AM
Hi Melandol welcome to CH!

I dont know alot about this condition, but if he is only being used for trail rides and not huge jumps, then i dont see why he shouldn't be fine :) !