PDA

View Full Version : Riding while pregnant?

Jasmine
13-02-08, 03:04 PM
To all you mothers out there...
My mate would like to know if you can ride while you're pregnant?
Thanks.

bgw
13-02-08, 03:07 PM
You will here all the fores and againsts, it is up to the person concerned at the end of the day.
I certainly rode with all 3 of my children, I really believed it helped me stay fitter. My last was born when I was an older mother I was 40 when I had here, I rode up until I couldn't fit in the saddle. Mind you I knew the horse really well and felt very safe on it. I had a C section with this last child and bounced back really quick. I put it down to the riding.

At the end of the day it is her choice

Biddi

Arcticmoon
13-02-08, 03:17 PM
Agree with Biddi. It's a personal choice. I am fairly new to riding (have only had my horse 12 months) and gave up riding when I was 6 weeks along. For me it was about the fact that I wasn't entirely confident and didn't want to take the risk. It's been a terribly hard thing to do though. I am about to have this baby any day and can't wait to get back to riding!

sydney33
13-02-08, 03:38 PM
think it is a very personal choice and entirely depends on your experience and the horse. i rode till i was about 6 months pregnant, took it very easy and didnt do anything that would risk me falling off. at abt 6 months it just became too uncomfortable and my balance was starting to get too messed up.

mindari
13-02-08, 03:56 PM
some mums dont have a choice.
ride and miscarry. others can ride to the day of delivery. one of my friends did with every child. i know because it was my old boy she liked to ride.

me, couldnt even walk to the letter box n risk miscarriage, once past the 5th month. although did come 6th on a 50 miler when 3 months.
so sick i thought id die and wondering what on earth was wrong.. so trip to the doc and wow

lol at least thats one baby can honestly say has won a buckle poor old horse was carrying two.

cocomist