PDA

View Full Version : Help! Foal on the way & not a clue.

Bek
02-11-04, 11:59 AM
As of yesterday I have found myself with a TB mare who is 4 weeks off foaling. Never thought I'd find myself in the 'Breeding' forum.

I have zero experience with breeding/foaling and was hoping for some fundamental advice. Firstly I am after recommendations of appropriate feed/supplements etc. for her at this late stage of her pregnancy.

I am madly reading anything I can get my hands on but would really appreciate some pointers, also I'd like some advice as to symptoms to watch for of things going wrong (born pessimist here).

She has been unsettled and unhappy since arriving yesterday & I am so worried about her. I probably have no grounds too be, but this is a whole new side of horsemanship to me and I don't feel confident enough in my knowledge/skills when it comes to this. First freak out was that she slipped over backing out of the float and went down on her knees on the ramp a couple of times before managing to stand up. She is HUGE in the belly, I thought she'd never get up.

Hope someone has time to help me out here, thanks so much in advance.

(Oh, and aside from being worried sick I'm SO excited about it! I can absolutely see how you'd get hooked on breeding.)

pagan
02-11-04, 12:23 PM
Bek, have sent you a PM. Pls call after 9pm( off computer by then). Look forward to talking to you. Cheers.

Integrity
02-11-04, 01:20 PM
OK. Deep breath! Panicing won't help.

Is she up to date with needles/worming? Body Condition?

Paddock - clean EXTRA SAFE, sheltered from hot sun/rain if need be?

Maybe get her another horse to bond with over the fence?

If you've got any other concerns, PM me.

Oh, and Ron and Val Males book "Foaling" is FABOULOUS. Try Ebay, amazon.com etc

Syzygy
03-11-04, 08:36 AM