PDA

View Full Version : Young horse fun!

Gammy
15-02-11, 08:03 PM
I am currently working with my first young horse and enjoying it heaps! It helps that he is a very willing and trainable boy :) But I am having a bit of trouble getting him to canter on the lunge. I thought I would get him cantering on the lunge before asking for it under saddle. So I have him in the yard, lunge whip in hand and he will walk and trot no worries, click him forward and have the whip behind him as you do, and he will not canter! I could hit his bum until the cows come home and he still wouldn't move out of the trot! The trot does get faster, and I found that I literally had to chase him with the whip and run behind him to get a canter! and thats just not ideal..I think I was sweating as much as he was!
So, I am after all your tried tricks of the trade :)
I have been working him for a few months now, with the idea to get some muscle on him to hopfully make canter a bit nicer for him. And now its time for him to start cantering, he's quite happy to trot! hmmm! Horses are like a puzzle, and I am still looking for that missing piece!

StElmosFire
15-02-11, 10:27 PM
Hi Gammy! Sorry I don't have any you-beaut answers for Goblin's problem with aversion to cantering.... but it's nice to see you back on CH again.
(I think of you every time I saddle up!:);))

Little Filly
15-02-11, 11:03 PM
Hi there
Are you taking him out on trails yet? I found in my (limited, sure) experience that it's much easier to start the canter in an open environment. We used to spend weeks riding the newly broken horses up and down the road (v quiet, country dirt roads)... asked for trot up hills after a while and then the canter just came. After about 4-6 weeks of this only then did we start arena work. Oh actually, I think before the arena, we actually took the horses out to spend a month at the beach, that really helped to develop it too I'm sure.