PDA

View Full Version : NH - any ideas for kit cottages/ cabins?



kevarose
14-06-11, 01:19 PM
I am thinking of expanding my business by applying to add a small cabin/ cottage to my front acre. Has anyone had experience with any of the kit homes? Not looking at spending a fortune as I do not have it. I would have a builder/ carpenter assemble it. Have not been able to even consider this before as I was on envirocycle here but now the sewer is going through so this should be an option.

rmjens
14-06-11, 02:49 PM
1 000 posts kevarose!

I looked at kit homes a number of years ago, so my information isn't up to date, but for pricing I was told that construction costs would be similar to the kit's price. There are some very attractive timber options out there and a beauty in Horse Deals. Very New England US style.

LindaH
14-06-11, 02:52 PM
What about something like this?
http://www.sheds.com.au/process/catalogue/itemView.html?itemId=167709&categoryId=1279

Autumn
14-06-11, 05:50 PM
When we where looking to build years ago we got brochures from many, many places that offer kit type homes - from very small to large. There is a HUGE range of them out there and they are easy to find - The Weekly Times has tons of ads for this type of thing.

Biggest thing you need to check is your local shire laws about how many dwellings are aloud on your place - around here if its zoned residential its only one!!!

kevarose
14-06-11, 10:19 PM
Thanks Autumn - I googled and found "Weekly Times" but online not much - I have never heard of this rag before. Where is it sold?

Yes - my house is on rural acres but I also have a 1 acre residential acre on the street and it is possible that I could argue for a cottage to expand my business - the property next door has just got approval for this.

rmjens - I have looked through HD on line but cannot see what u mean - maybe I will buy one.
LindaH - like the link you sent. I need to explore that more.

I really want an idea before I set off to Council and I thought a kit home might be the go as I only want something simple.

ally2
15-06-11, 12:38 AM
'The Weekly Times' is the Victorian equivalent of 'The Land' in NSW
perhaps a modular/transportable or prefab cabin would be cheaper than having a kit built
http://timberlinehomes.rtrk.com.au/?scid=18443&kw=864705 (no idea whether this lot are expensive but it will give you an idea
there is also a company in Goulburn that builds Yurts which might be worth a look
http://site.yurtworks.com.au/

horsesRgr8
15-06-11, 12:45 AM
The Trading Post online and "premier homes and granny flats" in Melbourne.....they might have an agent interstate...

darkhorse3
15-06-11, 07:14 AM
I found when I looked at a kit home that the smaller it is, the more you pay per sq mtr to a point where I didn't find it cost effective at all. I looked at a mid priced cabin that was only 9 squares and it was something like $65,000 for the kit alone - this was 5 years ago!

So instead, I had just put up a 20m shed for just over $16k and I added a strong mezzanine floor to one end that was 7.6m x 7 and that was an additional $7k. I then added my own insulation and plaster etc.

I think its like buying land, the smaller it is, the more you are inclined to pay top dollar per sq mtr. Most kit homes (18 sq etc) hardly come in under $230k anymore (built). So to me they really aren't a cheaper alternative to your larger supply builders unless you are building it yourself or have a working bee - over 12 months!!!!

Charlypops
15-06-11, 08:36 AM
I looked into kits extensively when looking at options for our new home about 1.5 to 2 years ago.

Basically you times the kit priced X 3 to get your final price. In the end it was cheaper for us to go with a builder, and far less stressful.

The people next doof to us are living in a little cabin they bought whilst building. It is like one of the big ones at caravan parks. Fully decked out, that cost them about $30 000, but I think that was second hand.

Think1st
15-06-11, 08:55 AM
You sometimes see "caravan park type cottages" advertised for sale/auction when they upgrade their accommodation. Could be worth while contacting some of the big auction groups (Slattereys, Greys, Pickles etc) to ask if they have anything coming up.

Have you looked at moved houses? We have had a few moved over the years and have found it much cheaper than building from scratch and you end up with a structure more substantial than some of the prefabs around. Not all councils will approve moved houses so you would need to check that out as well.

kevarose
15-06-11, 10:22 AM
Thanks all - some really really good ideas there and I will check them all out. My budget is very small so I have to think hard about it.

cbz
15-06-11, 10:45 AM
How about this?:

http://shop.ebay.com.au/i.html?_nkw=relocatable+cabin&_frs=1&_trksid=p3286.c0.m359

or these:

http://shop.ebay.com.au/i.html?_nkw=granny+flat&_frs=1&_trksid=p3286.c0.m359


Also keep an ear out for schools or similar putting in new buildings (thanks to the Government). A bloke up the road bought about 18 wooden individual classrooms and has put them together to make a giant house. He's done it brilliantly and it's absolutely beautiful.

I've also heard of guest accommodation in old restored railway carriages, which could be pretty cute.

miss poss
15-06-11, 12:34 PM
I was looking into the cheapest way to get a roof over one's head a while ago.

I came across transportable cottages etc here in W'gong.

Will have a good look for the paperwork. Are you coming on Friday KR? If you are, I could bring the info along. From memory, they're at Unibuild Albion Park Rail 4256 8888.

I saw a few more advertised in a few magazines I've read recently. I'll do a bit more backtracking and I'll let you know what I find.:)

kevarose
15-06-11, 01:16 PM
Thanks all - great ideas on ebay. The little timber cabin from WA on ebay looks perfect although a trifle small but I do not see moving it so far.

Thanks Miss Poss - cannot come Friday as I have to work but I will check out the Albion Park business you mention. I will come to Pizzas in the Mist in July - but I need a reminder!

dimquisty
15-06-11, 01:20 PM
I'm in the process of getting one approved on my property now, depending on what council your in and the square Mtrs of the proposal, as to your fees. I have heard of some councils to be quite expensive. Mine is under 60sqm which is still a granny flat.

shadowmystique
15-06-11, 01:57 PM
Removable houses that are build offsite and get transported and stumped on your property can work out a very very good option...
We were looking at this option recently as a family home but noticed at the same time they do good cottage/granny flat type ones as well and the price is very reasonable considering its already built and all you need is the electrics, sewerage and plumbing hooked up on arrival! :)

Autumn
15-06-11, 05:49 PM
Met a girl the other day who got a house for free - all she had to do was remove it. Its very nice and her costs where transport and set up ie: bit of building work, stumps, plumbing, electrics etc.

With the new ones that are transported in some advertise you can move in in 2 days - but you would have to get all the services lined up to get it done in time.

I think it could be very cost effective.

kevarose
15-06-11, 07:45 PM
I will look into these - great idea. Thanks.

I came across this list on another forum:

Alternate Dwellings: http://www.alternatedwellings.com.au/
ASK Asteel Kit Homes: http://www.asteelkithomes.com.au/start.htm
Aussie Houses: http://www.aussiehouses.com.au/
Backyard Cabins: http://www.backyardcabins.com.au/
Ballina Building: http://www.ballinabuilding.com.au/
Bush and Beach Designer Homes: http://www.bushandbeach.com.au/
Circular Energy Homes: http://www.circularenergy.com.au/
Component Homes: http://www.componenthomes.com.au/
Kwikset Construction Homes: http://www2.tpg.com.au/users/kwickset/b ... hotos.html
Country Lane Homes: http://www.countrylanehomes.com.au/
Bell River Homes: http://www.bellcountryhomes.com.au/bwWe ... efault.asp
East Coast Villages http://www.eastcoastvillagehomes.com.au/
Ezy Homes: http://www.ezyhomes.com.au/
Fairweather Homes: http://www.fairweather-homes.com/
Forest Glen Kit homes: http://www.kithomes.com.au/
Freedom Homes: http://www.freedomhomes.com.au/
Gabrielle Poole: http://www.gabrielpoole.com.au/
Glenwood Rural: http://glenwoodrural.com.au/
Goulburn Yurt Works: http://site.yurtworks.com.au/
Gumpy Homes: http://www.gumpyhomes.com.au/
Ideal Steel: http://www.idealsteel.com.au/
Jarrah Homes: http://www.jarrahhomes.com.au/
Kendale Homes: http://www.kendale.com.au/
Kentucky Napier: http://www.kentuckynapier.com.au/
Kinna Polehomes: http://www.polehomes.com/
Sala Homes: http://www.salahomes.com.au/Kit-home-prices.html
Beach Life Homes: http://www.beachlifehomes.com.au/
HandCrafted Homes: http://www.handcraftedhomes.com.au/
Kitome: http://www.kitome.com.au
Lifestyle Cabins: http://www.lifestylecabins.com.au/
Appalachian Homes: http://www.appalachianloghomes.com.au/
Dome Homes: http://www.domeshells.com.au/
New England Country Homes: http://www.newengland.com.au/
Nu Steel Kit Homes: http://nusteelkithomes.com.au/
Olympiade Homes: http://www.olympiade.com.au/
OzKit Homes: http://www.ozkit.com.au/
Paal Homes: http://www.paal.com.au/
Parkwood Homes: http://www.parkwoodhomes.com.au/
Post & Beam: http://www.postbeam.com.au/
Prebuilt: http://www.prebuilt.com.au/
Premier Granny Flats: http://www.grannyflats.com.au/
Ral Homes: http://www.ralhomes.com.au/
Tropical Cabins: http://www.tropicalcabins.com
Shedco: http://www.shedco.com.au/
Spacemaker homes: http://www.spacemakerhomes.com/
Steel Frame Specialists: http://www.houseframe.com/
Steel Built Homes: http://www.steelbuilt.com.au/
SteelFrame Buildings: http://www.steelframe.com.au
SteelSmart: http://www.steelsmart.com.au/kits/index.htm
Storybook Cottages: http://www.storybook.com.au/
Thermopanel: http://www.thermopanel.com.au/
Timberline Industries: http://www.timberlineindustries.com.au/
Timberset Homes: http://www.timberset.com.au/
Total Kit Homes: http://www.tkh.tassie.net.au/
Tru Built Constructions: http://www.trubuilt.com.au/
Valley Kit Homes: http://www.valleykithomes.com.au/
Austam Homes: http://www.austamhomes.com.au/
Harkaway Homes: http://www.harkawayhomes.com.au/
Homefab Steel Frame: http://www.homefab.com.au/homefab100506 ... _frame.htm
Tamkit Homes: http://www.tamkithomes.com.au

thejoth
15-06-11, 07:49 PM
don't know what end of the market you are after, but there is mob in melb that do designer modular prefabs. you just add more modules to make bigger places. very streamlined and minimal, but costlier. http://www.modscape.com.au

for something sublimely old world have a look at 'the white house daylesford' and for the studio. http://empirevintage.com.au/thewhitehousedaylesford/index.html

kevarose
16-06-11, 12:05 AM
LOVE both of your suggestions TheJoth. Drooling over Modscape and love the graphics and creativity of the website for the Daylesford cottage and it looks pretty nice too!