PDA

View Full Version : Instructor

Montego
16-12-11, 07:03 PM
I have lost my loved instructor. For reasons only she knows, she is cutting back. I seem to be one of the ones she is cutting back. :(

So now I am in the market for a new instructor. It is major change management for me. (the instructor bred, broke in and trained to Prelim my current horse). I live in a district that has more instructors per square metre than most areas of Australia.

So how do I find a new one. I thought Budget was my first consideration, but on reflection it isn't really. I am old, tired, a very ordinary rider, and still muddling around in the very lowest levels of dressage. But what I lack in skill I have in abundance a need to learn and I am a a sponge for Improvement. I am crooked and have poor coordination, but I have always been told that I am a great student because I listen and TRY. My first consideration then is what? A sympathetic ear? Classical (P. K. etc. style) ? My ex-instructor's instruction relied very heavily on classical principles.

I think I mostly need sympathy. I am a bit down!

Red Dun
16-12-11, 07:08 PM
Sorry to hear Montego. There's some things we don't like change with, and someone we trust with both ourselves and our horses make it even harder.

Can you ask her who she recommend you use? Given she bred and trained your horse then she would likely know who would best suit you both.

Hugs.

mel22
16-12-11, 07:10 PM
ahh i had the same a couple of months ago as the place i initially was at lost their only school horse into semi retirement... just keep looking.... i was quite upset when i could not go back to my first place however quite enjoying the new place now...

hopefully you will find a very nice place similar to the old one.

cyrus
16-12-11, 07:57 PM
They say change is as good as a holiday, embrace the change and look forward to the new ways that may help you.