Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Agistment - Newcastle University NSW

Default Agistment - Newcastle University NSW

Hello

I am a year 12 student, looking to study at Newcastle Uni next year. I have been umming and ahhing over going straight into uni for quite a while as I am also very serious about my horses and dressage competition. I have just purchased a gorgeous young warmblood and the thought of going off to uni and having to stop riding is terrifying me and I know there is no chance I could do it. I have considered taking up a working pupil position for a year... but I would still have to go to uni if I did this anyway. I am keen to study and very interested in academics.

Anyway... getting to the point! If I were to be at uni does anyone know of any good/affordable agistment near by? I really need to look into options in order to understand just how I am going to be afford such a venture. I was also thinking I may be able to pick up some work at a stables in return for partial agistment also? Any ideas/experiences.

I know most people won't live in the area, but would be very interested to hear experiences regarding studying/living away from home and still maintaining a riding life. (If that is even possible!?) I am willing to work and prepared to do so.

Thanks for your help,

Okay. Dressage is an expensive sport. You will need a good income to realise your dressage ambitions. I know many riders who were on squads and state teams in their young rider days but in their early 30s can no longer afford to compete, can barely afford lessons because their jobs don't pay enough and they are chronically struggling to get better paid work because of a lack of work skills and qualifications.

3-4 years spent studying now will allow you that lifetime with horses. (Unless your parents are mining magnates with a fortune in the hundreds of millions of dollars, then you are welcome to skip uni and go straight to training in Europe)